Elsewhere

Running Lightly at large…

Strava is a lovely little home for my training data, and a great place to connect with other people who like training data. I tend to run alone, but have built a virtual community here that’s supportive, encouraging, and often insightful in the ways a team might be. Hopefully, I provide some value and inspiration in return, helping to pull folks along in the same way the pros and everyday heroes I follow help me.


Threads has the feel of early Twitter (Yes, I know it’s not called that anymore. But I don’t call my father in-law, “Rick” just because he decided to stop going by Bill. We’ve all said Bill for years. It’s Bill). Anyway, Threads has a nice, cozy vibe. Meta hasn’t screwed up the algorithm yet, and a person has a decent chance of seeing things they’re interested in, and engaging in thoughtful discourse.


Instagram (if you believe the voices crying, “Where’s my reach?”) seems to be withering as a communication tool for common creators like me. If you’re not already big, good luck. But I still have fun there, and the platform offers unique opportunities for short-form storytelling. In fact, I plan to push myself creatively in that area. After all, I’ve got no audience to alienate, so let’s see what happens.


Substack Notes is the new kid, but because it’s here, and you’re here, and I’m here… It is intriguing. I’m always thinking with social media, “How can I give value in a way that honors the platform and its community?” Really, I think stuff like that! I owe Notes some honest-to-goodness, get-to-know-you time. With some active listening, I have no doubt the way I can help others here will reveal itself.